Overcast   39.0F  |  Forecast »
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Feed Feed

NET Honors James A. Mastera for Distinguished Service

Longtime NET supporter James A. “Jim” Mastera received the Distinguished Service Award from NET Television and NET Radio on June 18 at a luncheon before the NET Foundation for Television and NET Foundation for Radio annual board meeting. The award recognizes Mastera’s nine years of exemplary service to the combined boards.



“I am honored to receive the Distinguished Service Award,” Mastera said. “NET performs an invaluable service to the citizens of Nebraska. I am very proud to have played a small part in NET and very thankful for the opportunity to serve.”

Mastera had worked 42 years at Cornhusker Bank, where he retired in 2005 as its Executive vice president. He continues to serve on the bank’s board. With an undergraduate and a master’s degree from Doane College, Mastera has been an active volunteer in the Lincoln community for many years. His statewide and community service includes Downtown Rotary Club #14 past President and District #5650 Governor; trustee of the Cedars Youth Services Foundation; member of the BryanLGH Foundation; member of SCORE (Senior Core Of Retired Executives); and past member of the boards of the Foundation for Lincoln Public Schools, the Citizen’s Committee of the Joint Antelope Valley Authority, the Nebraska Council on Economic Education, and the Hospital Authority of Lancaster County.

“Jim’s contributions to NET over the years are numerous and significant,” said NET General Manager Rod Bates. “His leadership, patience and sensible management have helped move this institution forward in many areas. Jim was an outstanding leader during the discussions related to board governance for the two foundations. We appreciate all the time and talent he has offered us over the years.”

Since 1976, NET has recognized the outstanding efforts by individuals whose leadership and service have contributed significantly to the development of the NET Television and NET Radio. Past recipients of the Distinguished Service Award include Clifford M. Hardin, former Chancellor of the University of Nebraska (1977); Phil Heckman, former president of Doane College and member of the PBS Board of Directors (1983); Bob Kerrey, former Nebraska Governor and U.S. Senator (2000); and Ron Hull, a 56-year employee of NET.

“We’d like to thank Jim for all of his hard work and dedication to NET over the years,” said Jeff Beckman, executive director of the NET Foundation for Television and the NET Foundation for Radio. “NET offers such a vital service to everyone in this state. We appreciate all of Jim’s efforts on our behalf.”

The NET Foundation for Radio and the NET Foundation for Television are the statewide nonprofit 501(c)(3) citizen support organizations chartered to assist the Nebraska Educational Telecommunications Commission to establish and operate NET Radio and NET Television. NET Television, NET Radio, NET Learning Services and NET Technology Services are all services of NET. For more information about NET, visit the Web site at netNebraska.org.

Add your comment: